top of page

Iowans in Orlando

As the plane pulling out of the Des Moines International airport ascended, I began to sob. I was leaving my home of 15 years, three of my adult children, two grandbabies, and many friends four days before Christmas, and flying with my husband who had just secured a position in the Orlando area to my new home.

On December 18th I packed up my Christmas decorations. We couldn't exchange gifts because, "What can fit in a suitcase that you will have to live out of for six weeks?" This was to be the most bummer of a Christmas I had ever had.

Until I saw this.....

....the largest Christmas Tree I had ever seen in person. It was at that moment I realized that Christmas happens even if you don't, personally, make it happen.

For the rest of the week I discovered many more Christmas trees. A lot more Christmas lights than I had ever experienced, and everyone says, "Merry Christmas!" down here, even those who look like they practice a different religion. And, it's not "Happy Holidays", it's Merry Christmas! And, they say it with enthusiasm, not like they are saying it under their breath, or under duress.

Navigating through that first week, I went to many places, restaurants, gas stations, Walgreen's, and I was impressed by the open-ness of the people as far as making us feel welcome. It was a soft landing for us, and although there were not decorations or gifts, it was one of the best Christmases ever.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page